Small Business Development Center FREE Consulting and Training

b Back to Resource Library   

Links to Outside Sources — Search Engines, Databases, and Indexes

Listed below are a few of the many search engines, databases, and indexes that you can use to find information on the Web. Each search engine has different features, and indexes a different selection of web sites. There is not one site that covers them all. However, you can find more information on “how search engines work” from Daniel Amor at ebusinessrevolution.com

Note: the products and services on these websites are not endorsed by the ISBDC; our links to these sites are only here to serve as a reference for individuals desiring more information from search engines, databases, and indexes.

- About.com: http://www.about.com

- All-in-One Search Page: http://www.allonesearch.com

- Alta Vista: http://www.altavista.com

- Ask: http://www.ask.com

- Big Yellow: http://s14.bigyellow.com

- Bigbook: http://www.bigbook.com

- Bigfoot: http://www.bigfoot.com

- Bing: http://www.bing.com

- CMC: http://www.december.com/cmc/info/index.html

- Clearinghouse: http://www.clearinghouse.net

- Copernic Agent: http://www.copernic.com/en/index.html

- Deja News: http://www.dejanews.com

- DirectHit: http://www.directhit.com

- DOE Information Bridge: http://www.osti.gov/bridge

- Dogpile: http://www.dogpile.com

- Essential Links: http://www.el.com

- Excite: http://www.excite.com

- Galaxy: http://galaxy.einet.net

- GILS: http://www.gils.net/index.html

- GoTo: http://www.goto.com

- Google: http://www.google.com

- HotBot: http://hotbot.lycos.com

- InfoHiway Surf-N-Search: http://www.infohiway.com

- Infoseek.Go: http://www.go.com

- Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory: http://www.llnl.gov/llnl/lists/listsc.html

- Look Smart: http://www.looksmart.com

- Lycos: http://lycos.com

- Mamma: http://www.mamma.com

- MetaCrawler: http://www.metacrawler.com/index.html

- Net Guide: http://www.netguide.com

- Northern Light: http://www.northernlight.com/

- Open Text Index: http://www.opentext.com/

- PhoneNumbers: http://www.phonenumbers.net/

- ProFusion: http://www.profusion.com/

- SBDC Research Network: http://www.sbdcnet.org

- SmallBiz Search Engine: http://www.allsmallbiz.com/

- Snap: http://www.snap.com/

- Switchboard: http://www.switchboard.com/

- The Big Hub: http://www.thebighub.com/

- TradeWave Galaxy: http://www.einet.net/

- WebCrawler: http://webcrawler.com

- Where2go: http://www.where2go.com/

- Yahoo!: http://www.yahoo.com

- Yahoo People Search: http://people.yahoo.com

Contact: ISBDC Staff 
Evergreen Building Rm C77
315 Falls Avenue P O Box 1238
Twin Falls, ID 83303-1238
Phone: 208.732.6450
Fax: 208.445.1492
Home | Workshops |Trainers | Links | Research | Library | Success Stories | Biz Blog

We  hope that you have found our site useful. Please feel free to share your comments with us and let us know if there is any way we might serve you better.  Revised 8.5.13