Skip to Main Site Navigation Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Quick Links Skip to Content Skip to Footer Skip To Left Navigation

Student Clubs and Organizations at CSI

Meet, Share, Learn, Lead!

Student organizations provide opportunity to meet new friends, pursue recreational or educational activities, gain valuable leadership experience or just connect with others who share your interests. Some of your best memories of college will be the interesting events and fun filled activities you will enjoy outside class!

Below are just some of the clubs that are active at CSI. If you don't see your interests represented on this list, contact the Student Affairs Office and we can help you find or start a new group!

 

Agriculture Club

The CSI Agriculture Club is a student-led organization composed of over 40 members from both agricultural and non-agricultural majors. The Ag Club is affiliated as a chapter of the National FFA Alumni and Supporters, Collegiate Farm Bureau, and Student Idaho Cattle Association and is led by a team of student officers and committee chairs.

Throughout the school year, members of the Ag Club have the opportunity to connect with industry professionals during agribusiness and farm tours, hone their skills in competitive events, give back to the 4-H and FFA organizations by serving as event facilitators and judges, serve the local community, and build their networks in the agricultural industry while having fun and promoting agriculture.

The Ag Club meets twice per month in the Evergreen Building and hosts many group activities each semester. If you're looking for a place to connect with others who value agriculture, Ag Club is the club for you! Sign up for meeting announcements and reminders by joining our Remind group: text @agriclub to 81010. 

Contact Matthew Quesnell at (208) 732-6403 or mquesnell@csi.edu

Art Club

Contact Mayumi Kiefer at (208) 732-6753 or mkiefer@csi.edu

Choir

Contact Serena Jenkins Clark at (208) 732-6768 or sjenkinsclark@csi.edu

CoHORT (Horticulture Club)

The Council of Horticulture students promotes awareness of the horticulture program at CSI and the plant industry. All students are welcome. We hold plant workshops and events including: corn maze, apple cider pressing, obstacle course run, and plant sale. We also  attend and participate in interclub activities, 60 hours to Fight Hunger, Christmas in the Nighttime Sky, Christmas Tree Recycling, Harvest Festival, Home and Garden Shows, and other activities.

Contact Chance Munns at (208) 732-6431 or cmunns@csi.edu

Delta Psi Omega (Theatre Club)

Contact Burcu Seyben at (208) 732-6780 or bseyben@csi.edu

Drafting Club

Contact Pat Ferrel at (208) 732-6326 or pferrel@csi.edu

Equine Club

Contact Jim Knight at (208) 732-6414 or jknight@csi.edu

GSA Pride Alliance

GSA club here on campus provides a safe space for LGBTQ+ students and their allies here on campus. The club enjoys being involved in CSI events as well as creating their own, one including a drag show that is held each spring semester. The GSA club meets every Thursday in the Taylor Building room 247 at 1 pm to hang out make friends and plan events. 

Contact Ryan Zaccone at (208) 732-6260 or jzaccone@csi.edu

Cavity Searchers (Dental Assisting)

Contact Tonja Bowcut at (208) 732-6708 or tbowcut@csi.edu

HOSA (Health Occupation Students of America)

Contact Tonja Bowcut at (208) 732-6708 or tbowcut@csi.edu

Hosteurs (Culinary Arts)

Contact Mike Johnson at (208) 732-6381 or mjohnson@csi.edu

HTEC (Hospitality, Tourism, and Events)

Contact Dianne Jolovich at (208) 732-6407 or djolovich@csi.edu

Latinos in Action

Contact Maritza Vega at (208) 732-6291 or mvega@csi.edu

Medical Assisting

The Medical Assisting Club consists of members who are currently enrolled in the Medical Assisting Program.  We offer community service through our club.  Our goal is to educate and raise awareness of what the Medical Assisting Program/Profession is and their important role in healthcare.  We celebrate National Medical Assisting Week each October.  We raise money; again for organizations in our community we desire to assist. We meet in room 182 of the HSHS building.

Contact Kara Mahannah at (208) 732-6728 or kmahannah@csi.edu

NAfME (Music Educators Club)

Contact Serena Jenkins Clark at (208) 732-6786 or sjenkinsclark@csi.edu

Nutrition & Dietetics

Do you like to help others? Are you interested in living a healthy lifestyle and helping others to live a healthy lifestyle? Do you like trying new food and learning about the importance of nutrition? Are you interested in the field of Dietetics? Then the CSI Nutrition and Dietetics Club may be for you!

We meet once per month as a group (currently the third Thursday of the month at 1:00 pm but that can change each semester) and participate in one "activity" per month. Examples of past activities include:

  • Health smoothie demonstrations
  • Serving dinner at St. Edwards Soup Kitchen
  • Paining bowls for hunger at Hands On
  • Participating in the Lane of Trees
  • Fall Festival and Spring Carnival with Interclub
  • CSI Trunk or Treat

We would love to have you join us! If you are interested or have any questions, you can contact one of the Club Advisors! Sarah Renaldi, Rita Ruhter, or Rene Rambur.

STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math)

STEM Club serves as a place where students interested in science, technology, engineering, and/or mathematics have an opportunity to take part in educational endeavors, engaging activities, scholarship opportunities, community service, field trips, guest speakers, and socializing with peers and faculty.

STEM meets every 3rd Tuesday of the month at 1 pm in Shields 104. Please join us!

STEM Club activities have included:

  • Tour of Daily Family Fish Hatchery in Hagerman
  • Nerf gun war
  • Field Trip to University of Idaho Design Expo
  • Field Trip to Utah State University’s BioEngineering Lab and then Lagoon 
  • Bowling
  • Guest speaker: CSI graduate and ITD Civil Engineer Kandice Stewart on current project – the redesign of I-84 bridge over Snake River
  • Guest speaker: Geology professor Shawn Willsey on the geology underfoot in Southern Idaho
  • Mini-catapult building competition among students
  • Helping at the CSI Halloween carnival and CSI Spring Carnival
  • Developing the number pi by throwing frozen hot dogs on a grid
  • Building a catapult to launch pumpkins at the CSI corn maze
  • Field trip to Craters of the Moon National Park

For more information, contact STEM club advisors Cindy Dickson (cdickson@csi.edu) or Andrew Cluff (acluff@csi.edu)

SMILES (Dental Hygiene)

Contact Dr. Cindy Seaman at (208) 732-6725 or cseaman@csi.edu

Students for Life

CSI Students for Life club is a peaceful pro-life group that seeks to educate and engage in respectful dialog with our CSI community to help change hearts and minds about abortion.  We exist to advocate for preborn babies and support women facing unplanned pregnancies. We meet Wednesdays bi-monthly on campus. Contact Angela Batchelor (abatchelor@csi.edu) or Julie Ransom (jransom@csi.edu) for more information.

 

United Signers

Contact Dawnette Reis-Rodriguez at (208) 732-6881 or dreis@csi.edu

Veterans & Supporters Association

Contact Calvin Armstead at (208) 732-6244 or carmstead@csi.edu

Veterinary Tech

Our club is about providing opportunities for development of leadership skills through group communication, organizing community events and peer interaction. Establishing a connection between the Veterinary Technology Club and the community through outreach programs. Providing students with career experiences and educate students about career opportunities involving animal medicine pharmaceutical industry and other aspects of veterinary medicine. Providing education to owners about the health of their pets. Supporting veterinary clinics and animal shelters in out area and raising awareness of the role of veterinary technicians. Raising funds to support our mission.

Contact Jody Rockett at (208) 732-6408 or jrockett@csi.edu

Table of Contents

none listed